MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Video Game Soundtrack

Video Games
Posted by: sue
April 09, 2009, 01:11 PM

Thanks to music4games.net for letting us know about their review for the video game soundtrack to Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. The music as reported several times previously was released last month, however the HBP video game from EA  will not be out until July of this year. The sound track however, is already out and the review of the score by James Hannigan, concludes on a very positive note:

Fans of Williams’ music for Harry Potter will thoroughly enjoy the musical world Hannigan has explored.  Sequences like that for “Slytherin Combat” would work equally well in big orchestral moments even in the Star Wars universe—distant musical stylistic sounds from the same composer.  While the shadow of Williams’ music is cast over the music here, this is very much Hannigan’s own music.  He is able to create plenty of interesting thematic threads (a great one for Slughorn) that run through the score without having to reiterate those created in the films.  This allows the music to be a self-contained valid symphonic spectacle on its own with plenty of dash and polish to engage players and listeners alike.  In short, this new video game score is perhaps one of the more delightful collections of music for this classic literary character.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent Video Games News

20 Comments

Avatar_nerd_thumb
3908 Points

This is cool! First?

Posted by Imperiused! on April 09, 2009, 01:16 PM report to moderator
Voila_thumb
9765 Points

Cool beans! :D

Posted by maera-kyrie on April 09, 2009, 01:25 PM report to moderator
282600_233804939987291_100000733600249_807455_78180_n_thumb
3031 Points

I cant wait to get this game for my Wii. lately i think these hasnt been any game that i want so its been pretty boring playing the same games.

Posted by Horcruxalej on April 09, 2009, 01:27 PM report to moderator
Potterpuffsi010-vi_thumb
3263 Points

I’m so excited for this game!

Posted by siriuslysirius11 {*SQUEE*} on April 09, 2009, 01:30 PM report to moderator
N8846922_43549767_6482_thumb
5489 Points

i hate video games, and have actually never played a harry potter video game before, but i really really would like to try this one!

Posted by avrenim [WBM!] on April 09, 2009, 02:19 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
872 Points

I can’t wait for the game!

Posted by Heavenly_Horcrux on April 09, 2009, 03:43 PM report to moderator
Ravenclaw_thumb
783 Points

hmmm..sounds interesting :)
i wanna hear it now

Posted by Mary11_hplvr*WBM* on April 09, 2009, 05:31 PM report to moderator
L_32b0eddba4eb43718eb38ffa016162b2_thumb
2588 Points

Nice!

Posted by phantomdave79 on April 10, 2009, 01:17 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
524 Points

I enjoy the HP games and i wish they would bring out a wand control that has buttons that makes it work as having a Wii control makes it difficult to do some of the moves.

Posted by HGROSS44 on April 10, 2009, 02:16 AM report to moderator
Pru2_thumb
2016 Points

This whole story SCREAMS post-modernity!!!

Posted by JustSuperMione on April 10, 2009, 05:32 AM report to moderator
3176_1148335864275_1103912219_30424142_7574358_n-3_thumb
15914 Points

Woot! I can’t wait for this game! Really!

Posted by Mhæy™⌠R☺AR⌡ on April 10, 2009, 08:30 AM report to moderator
Rupes_maggie_thumb
24135 Points

Awesome!

Posted by hermyone*ROAR* on April 10, 2009, 10:18 AM report to moderator
Teddy_thumb
40 Points

I Can’t WAIT to get the game!! :D :D I have a Wii and LOVE playing harry potter on it! :D I may even buy this as I have some money on my Itunes! :)

Posted by Miss M on April 10, 2009, 06:44 PM report to moderator
Normal_dh_onset_londonday2_08_thumb
791 Points

i haven’t gotten any of the other games… maybe i will get this one…

Posted by DanielleD on April 10, 2009, 08:20 PM report to moderator
Avatars_movies_ootp_002_thumb
2105 Points

I’m so looking forward to playing this game on my Wii – I had trouble with some of the wand movements for the spells in OotP too, HPGROSS44, but I’m hoping they improved the wand controls for HBP. It sounds like I need to listen to the score while I’m waiting, though – I hope they’ve got it on iTunes!

Posted by Agrippa1 on April 10, 2009, 11:41 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Apr. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!

Guess That Book

Perhaps it was Harry's imagination, after all he'd heard about Slytherin, but he thought they looked like an unpleasant lot.

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!